Camera Play

With the Gallery on the verge of becoming a going concern (again) I decided my lazy habit of point and clicking my figures had to come to an end, so yesterday I spent a day away from the brushes and put some effort in on the camera.

Untitled 16

After many hours of fiddling with fiddly micro buttons, switches and turn dials of various configurations I came to the conclusion that I’m not happy with setting the white balance or focus manually so these operations have stayed on “auto”, my eyes are a bit buggered anyway so I don’t think it would be a huge benefit focusing manually.

Untitled 2

I did put in some effort with F-stop settings, sensor readings (the old film speed ISO) and shutter speeds and I think the majority of the photo’s have come up considerably better than my recent efforts, particularly with depth of field.

Untitled 21   Untitled 19

One thing became clear from my day of fiddlizing is I really should invest in a half decent light to paint and photograph under may go a long way to improving both. It was a pity my camera wont let me play with exposures, it insists on taking photos properly in that regard and it also probably explains the absence of a light meter, putting that to one side I think it was a successful day.

Untitled 6

The flickr folder is public and I’ve stored a few of the happy snaps there-in.

It's great to read what you think so please leave a comment

